Other things I’m doing

As the winter holidays approach, I find the need to work faster to get gifts covered. I’m taking on a personal challenge of a gift a day whether in knit, crochet or other. The portrait you see here was a request made of me nearly a year ago. With three kids, I had a hard time getting this going. They seem to always have a tendency to “help” with the drawing. This portrait was originally started on 9″x12″ in pencil but I was not happy with the look of it. So, I ordered a new easel and when the kids were asleep, I started this on 19″x24″ bristol instead. I’m much happier with how it’s looking. It’s not quite done. The earlier post of our Thief was inspired because the original picture I have to work from for this, has gone missing. Last night my husband’s glasses, today this picture, the day before that was something else… Brownies. I’m telling you.

A close up of the second gift of the season.

A close up of the second gift of the season.

I started this in graphite but moved to charcoal to give it depth.

I started this in graphite but moved to charcoal to give it depth.

I’ll only share an extreme close up of the second holiday gift of the season to not give anything away to the possible recipient in case they stop in here. I’m doing well so far with keeping to the gift a day, and hope I manage to stay on track and come up with things people may actually adore, use, or at least appreciate. Fingers crossed..

In other news, it’s day 2 of NaNoWriMo and I’m still in editing process. Because I haven’t touched this story in two years, I need to re-acquaint myself with the characters, the story, and where I want it to go next so I’m reading through it and making notes in a notebook on changes I see that need be made. Perhaps, tomorrow I’ll actually get back into writing and possibly even share a snippet of the story. Would you be interested?

Thanks for stopping by. So glad to have you here.

Leave a Reply

