A little crooked

Yes, I am. Aren’t you? No, this post isn’t about how crazy I am, but about another gift being made. This one was a request so I can share it with you. A local lady has had me make hats and blankets for her family members and a cover for an ottoman she has near her bathroom. She’s an elderly lady and uses it to sit on and help ready herself for the tub but the ottoman is from the 1970s and leather. It’s coming apart on top and she’s asked me a to make covers for it so that the cracks won’t show and the decor would match better. (It’s one of those old mustard colored round ottoman’s that you can’t find any more. I’ve looked.) Any how… During my last visit she gave me a star shaped crochet item she has been using lately and wants me to duplicate it in white.

Curling in on a corner I made a mistake on. Can you see it?

Curling in on a corner I made a mistake on. Can you see it?


No problem. It’s not that hard to figure out. I sat down after my previous project was done and started on it. I started going cross eyed trying to figure out the center of the pattern but thinking I finally got it, got to work immediately. Then I stopped paying attention to what I was doing and ended up with the following image. I messed up on a row and continued the mistake on the next 5 or 6 rows. So I’ve frogged back to fix it and now so far into it realize, it’s not supposed to be a star. It’s a hexagon, not a pentagon. Now I have to frog the whole thing and start over. Hmmm, and here I thought it was just a little crooked.

Just goes to show that getting a new perspective doesn’t just work for art, but for crochet and life as well. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

