Illustrator Saturday – Manelle Oliphant

Keeping options open, vary your style, never give away your work, and practice, practice, practice. All great tips! Wonderful interview and I’m loving these illustrations! I’m going to add Ruby and the Skateboard to my list of books to look for to share with my kids. A big thanks on this re-blog to Kathy Temean for interviewing and Manelle Oliphant for responding so eloquently.

Writing and Illustrating

manelleme-piccropped

Manelle graduated with a bachelor’s degree in illustration from Brigham Young University Idaho and has been working as an Illustrator since 2005.  She’s illustrated multiple books. Most recently, In the Garden, (spring 2012) In the Woods, (fall 2012) and At the Beach (spring 2013) for Peachtree Publishers.

Some of my other clients include: McGraw-Hill, Friend Magazine, The Empress Theatre, and Blooming Tree Press.

I work with watercolor, prismacolor pencil, pencil, Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign.

Manelle says, “My object in writing and illustrating books for children is: to recapture imagination, rekindle curiosity, and demonstrate the rewards of knowledge and virtue. Pretty good eh? I stole it from Walden Media. Regardless I am creating books and illustrations for children with this in mind. Hoping that others will have a chance to have fun, and learn from the products I create.”

Manelle has sent three panels that describe her process, thinking, and interview…

View original post 2,126 more words

Leave a Reply

