Kind of a HoHoDooDa(s)

Not that I’m cheap, but most often than not, I try to find acceptable gifts that I can afford to give to people. Last year was mine and my children’s first White Elephant Holiday exchange. The policy of the exchange is that every one who attends has a gift to enter in the pot. Being a family of 5, I bought a couple of dollar store gifts and tossed in a few hand written coupons. One of them suggested a portrait by me and the other said a crochet or hand knit item by me. Once the portrait was out people were scrambling. It was a huge boost to my ego, I’m not going to lie. They’d only seen my work once before as a quick birthday gift in the previous months. Then someone realized that there was another card there similar to the portrait and snagged it up, only to be disappointed when it wasn’t what he was hoping for. This was a bit of a slam to my crafting ego, but I understood. It’s taken me a year to get around to finding some time to try it out, but I finally scribbled some color onto paper and made it resemble the couple who won the free crochet/knit card last year. I wanted it to be a surprise, something more amazing than they’d have thought (which is why I tried it in color), and something they might look forward to again at a later date.

With my oldest going to Ohio this year for Winter Break I only needed to figure out 4 gifts. For this year’s White Elephant Holiday exchange I made two sets of hats with cowls, an elf you saw in the previous post here and since I got sick and couldn’t go, that’s where I stopped. I made a scarf for the hostess, baked potatoes for the dinner and sent my family while I got some rest and started on what you see here. I hope every one of you out there had a fabulous holiday. Stay warm and well my friends.

I had to drag one from the net to use so it would be more of a surprise.

I had to drag one from the net to use so it would be more of a surprise.

Took a few days to do, but I finally got around to it.

Took a few days to do, but I finally got around to it.

But I got it done before the new year. So Happy HoHoDooDa to you!

But I got it done before the new year. So Happy HoHoDooDa to you!

2 thoughts on “Kind of a HoHoDooDa(s)

Leave a Reply

